Tags

, ,

Yes, you read that right. Iguanaccountability.

Promise. Here’s a picture.

Havi states that “An iguana is any [stupid, crappy, annoying] thing you don’t feel like doing.”
Which is much clearer than how I tried to explain it:

I have a massive mess of iguana’s who have flippin’ sharp teeth and they are piling up.

They began creeping under my door at night, and then I tried to get up and they were covering my carpet to the extent that I accidentally trod on some.

And then they jumped up in defence and bit me.

Sorry iguanas. I’m sorry.

And now they’re nestling up in my bedcovers…

But before I feel like crap and face them, let’s go grab my wand and enchantress cloak. And some green tea.

Okay, so armed and ready, I skipped on over to Havi’s post on dealing with the de-piling-ness of a mess of iguanas. Except she’s more succinct than that.

Firstly, let’s narrow down to our truth.

Can I remove anything?
Let’s shrink this mess!

Repetition?
If I’ve said it before, decipher whether it’s urgent or not; and a one-of or continuous.

Costume
Wearing. =)

Language
Oh, my favourite word. After surrender. Yes, totally stolen of Elizabeth Gilbert’s friend.

So let’s start with a baby iguana. I need to clean.
Let’s call it… cleansing the circle? [as an enchantress]. I can take a small step. Take down my breakfast plate and bring up the vacuum cleaner? Doesn’t matter if I don’t vacuum yet. Just take a step. Maybe clear the carpet of stuff ready?

Readying the house for a coven meeting? Or maybe gathering up items for a spell? Like ingredients.

And maybe I could do that for each; metaphor it to hell and do so with a smile.

Define.
Don’t focus on the pile of DOOM. Let’s isolate each item:

Pay Bills.
Tidy.
Hoover.
Blog.
Read.
Plot Novel #4.
Take out recycling.
Sign up for insurancey stuff.
Prepare for training sessions on Mon and Tue.
Email societies [and update the list with those people who said “add me to your list” back in JUNE]
ShivaNata/Yoga/Stretches/FreeWeights/Physio
Cook a meal with vegetables in it. Maybe pasta & pesto.
Actually work on x, y, z as you gave your word you would – proof read novel, write blogs, make video, .

Okay now I’m scared.

Catergorise
So let’s give them a home/category.

Physical Wellbeing – home & body

ShivaNata/Yoga/Stretches/FreeWeights/Physio
Cook a meal with vegetables in it. Maybe pasta & pesto.
Tidy.
Hoover.
Take out recycling.

Work-Related – musts!

Actually work on x, y, z as you gave your word you would – proof read novel, write blogs, make video, .
Prepare for training sessions on Mon and Tue.
Email societies [and update the list with those people who said “add me to your list” back in JUNE]
Pay Bills.
Sign up for insurancey stuff.

Other – generally enjoyable except for the clawing and distractions of others

Blog.
Read.
Plot Novel #4.


Treasures?
In grabbing ingredients for this spell, I might find lost items [like my tubigrip that’s led to me making a makeshift bandage and sling out of gauze, a safety pin and my baby blanket] or important paperwork I’ve mislaid.

Why am I avoiding the:

Physical Wellbeing – home & body

Tired. Tiring to dance/flail.

Hurts to do physiotherapy exercises.

I ate a can of sweetcorn I was using as a free-weight.

My arm is in a fake sling.

The vacuum cleaner is downstairs and heavy.

The recycling boxes are filthy and I don’t want to touch the ick.

Work-Related – musts!

Fear. Not going to be good enough so why bother. Takes time and effort.

Not 100% sure what to do for it. Need clarity. Too much going on at once. Overwhelm.

Windows 7 search function makes finding my email list for the societies absolute freaking HELL. I don’t want to make myself angry with this laptop/Windows.

I’ve never paid a bill before. Fear. Unsurity. Need to ask how to do it online.

Other – generally enjoyable except for the clawing and distractions of others

As stated. Too much other to really focus and feel okay. Can’t breathe.

Why do I want to do these now?
Can’t breathe. If you stop breathing for too long you die. That’s a bad forecast for my day.

Got the day off. Have the time.

Started to clean up yesterday – realised how much dirt is around/found the bills/got a society email.

How can I make this easier/less scary and overwhelming?
I’m an enchantress; it’s spell-crafting.

I’m also a wordsmith. E-mails and projects x-z involve writing – I shall conquer them as a wordsmith would and it’ll be an amazing result.

Hoovering is exercise – arms and legs. And I can do it sitting down if needed.

I’ve got a list here and supporters. If it’s not done, I can check the list again later.

I can ask my housemate how to pay the bills online.

I think I have a copy of the email list backed up – let’s take it off there to save hassle.

Any resistance to these ideas?
“it’ll take forever. Of course your writing sucks. You’ve done NO WORK for Uni you lazy woman! This has to be done NOW. ALL of it. And then when you’ve done it you have to read those 15 academic papers and that one you got given in JUNE and don’t forget the core textbooks – you’re not even half way through two of them; let alone the third one!”

And a calm response. They just want to help:
“Yes, this might take all day. And then I’ll be exhausted. How about if I get them all done by tomorrow lunchtime – and then Tomorrow night I will read at least one of those papers. Next week is all about preparing for University again. That’s why this weekend is about the iguanas.

Does that sound okay to you?”

Commitment.
To read a book I enjoy in bed tonight.

To make a cup of tea every time I tick off two items. Any flavour I like. Even Chai with its warm winter scents.

For anyone else in need of doing a massive pile of doom, I hope these steps give you a little place to start interacting safely with it. Havi talks about it in more detail here. This was just my particular process.

In writing this, I’ve actually crossed off “blog”. How awesome is that?

And because the power of words really is strong; today’s phrase shall be I Am Capable.  What would yours be?

In light,

Rose