Tags

, , , ,

“Dancing with that limitation. Finding the edge of your limitation and dancing with it.”
– Susan O’Connell

Back in October, I spoke about Dancing with Limitation; an experiment into facing my fears; pushing my boundaries and excelling in things I didn’t like.
As part of my blazing crusade, I’m finding the limits and destroying them, ready for new growth.

I signed up to give campus tours to groups of school-children. Despite my fear of public speaking, my phobia of crowds and my dislike of meeting new people; it went well. I have redefinition to blame for this.

“Creativity can be described as letting go of certainties.”
– Gail Sheehy


April-August: an adventure

This is my final term as an undergraduate; these 13 weeks before graduation. In July, I graduate with a BSc in Psychology and then in September, I begin my life as a post-graduate student, pursuing an MSc in Cognitive Neuroscience.

For this final term, I have two essays due in, my dissertation and two exams to pass. However, I’m staying here inBrightonfor 15 weeks.

My word for May is ‘Centre’ as I approach June 4th – My Seventh anniversary of my Dedication to Paganism. I speak more about my past encounters with deity in my post on Strength.

“Growth demands a temporary surrender of security.”
– Gail Sheehy

The Plan
So with my enchantress dress, my power of redefinition and a sense of adventure; here’s my list of ways I’m pushing my boundaries in the next few months.

– I’m teaching Shiva Nata
– Yana and I will likely hold a Reiki share
– I’m public speaking at:
* Community Care Live Conference for the Paul Hamlyn Foundation
* Right Here Showcase
* Campus Tours  [still scares me]
– I’m attending courses [hate walking into a room of strangers]:
* ASIST
* Safeguarding Vulnerable Adults [tbc]
* Asperger Syndrome Awareness [tbc]
– Teaching meditation at CM&B society
– Likely talk about paganism again for SS society [tbc]
– Attending group discussions with Right Here:
* Campaigns influencing strategy meeting [wow that sounds pompous]
* National Panel Meeting
* General panel meetings (2x a month)
– I’m going to try rock-climbing to meet people

“If every day is an awakening, you will never grow old. You will just keep growing.”
– Gail Sheehy

Are you reaching your potential?
What boundaries could you push today?  How are you defined today?
How would you redefine yourself?

Dance with your limitations, and they’ll move back as you push them forward.

If we don’t change, we don’t grow. If we don’t grow, we aren’t really living.”
– Gail Sheehy

In light,
Rose

