Tags

, , ,

 This is the seventeenth post in the 30 days to Druidry series.

 

Myth and Stories were again, something I’d not experienced in that special way until I found Paganism. I’d been read books before; but here I found people who knew stories by heart, and gave each character a new voice. Each version changed slightly but the symbolism, the poetry, the song…. It was the same. The stories had truths within their fabrications.

As mentioned in V for Vendetta, artists use lies to tell the truth. In these stories of fantasy and seemingly impossible rubbish, were the lessons and the essences of true thoughts, feelings or actions.

I’ve never fancied myself a story-teller; despite being a novelist, poet and blogger; because reading my work and giving each character a voice is beyond my current abilities. Perhaps it’s something I’ll explore but for now, I feel content to write; to keep those truths and lies within the written word. Yet in my own way, I am a story-teller, aiming to get these written words published for others to read. Stories for people to tell.

 

I remember being 7 or 8 and being told that stories were stories. Made up. Rubbish. That crying over characters in a book was silly.

And then I remember being 13 or 14, and reading a very short story two wolves.

The Two Wolves

A Native American grandfather was talking to his grandson about how feelings. “There are two wolves fighting in your heart. One wolf is vengeful, angry, violent. The other wolf is loving, compassionate and kind.” The grandson thought about this for a moment, before asking, “Which wolf will win?”

 The grandfather answered: “The one you feed.”

For some reason, that was my realisation that stories could contain truths.

 

Myth

Mythology played an even bigger part of my journey. The myths of Greek Gods and the Norse Beliefs were the two experiences which brought me to Native American creation stories. Each tribe had different stories, yet there was a familiarity within the words.

And Myths about the Gods are the doorway to their party. Through each set of stories, I found myself understanding these characters and their actions. I felt for Artemis and Apollo; understood Freyja’s choices and could feel Scathach’s war cry in my heart.

 

If stories gave me truth and taught me about belief systems; myths gave me feeling, emotion and taught me about people’s differences and how feelings can be driven by those beliefs.

In light,
Rose

