Tags

, , , ,

nov12 007It’s December. The rush of NaNo is over and my novels are resting. However, that doesn’t mean I’ve stopped being a writer.

I’ve returned to a story I began in 2010, and I remembered that I was tagged in a Blog Hop by another NaNoWriMo participant, Cheyenne. As I spent January-October writing the first book, then November writing the sequel, I’ll begin with the first one.

1) What is the working title of your book?
Wings of Skell is the first book in my series, though I’ve changed my mind on the title’s format for the whole series; I haven’t yet decided on the replacement for this story.

2) Where did the idea come from for the book?
The image of Alina in a dusty village with a bird of prey just appeared. I had to get to know her; and find out what their story was.

3) What genre does your book fall under?
Young Adult Fantasy

4) Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?
Not a clue. Let me wait until the drafts are edited and I know which characters are actually appearing in each book. I guess the main character resembles Katie McGrath so that would work.

5) What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?
(I hate this bit; it never feels I can do the book justice… I don’t think the first book’s very good but this makes it sound so much worse =P)
Alina, heir to the throne, flees her village when bandits come for her. Heading for the city, she seeks the faction known for helping those with magic and endeavours to take her rightful place as Queen. But the raptor who helped her flee has a connection to the Otherworld that she may not be able to escape.

6) Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?
Ideally represented by an agent but as it’s currently in the hands of a publisher (no high hopes for the first attempt), who knows. Ideally, some form of official representation would be nice.

7) How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?
Nine months, though of that, only about 2-3 months actual writing time. It spent a lot of time sitting.

8) What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?
Not a clue. I’m not sure it’s even a finished story yet – the sequel brought up a lot of shifts I may need to account for.

9) Who or what inspired you to write this book?
Skell. I had the image of Alina and him together, and of the kingdom she begins in. I just had to find out what that was all about.

10) What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?
Depends what they like to read, but there’s magic, romance, murder, adventure and myth all rolled up, so if that’s your cup of tea, then great.

I quite like the format of this, so I’ll probably do another for the sequel, and possible for my current WIP too. We’ll see.

As for tagging, I tag Sorcha and anyone who reads this and writes 🙂 Leave a link in the comments so I can read it, too!

In Light,

Rose

